HSBC Cape Town Sevens dates confirmed
July 06, 2018
The schedule for the men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2018/19 was confirmed on Friday, with the ever-popular HSBC Cape Town Sevens set for the weekend of 8 and 9 December 2018.

SA Rugby will by middle August make an announcement on ticket sales for this popular event at the Cape Town Stadium, which was sold out in the last couple of years.

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, with South Africa again defending the overall title, will be contested across 10 rounds from November 2018 to June 2019.

The series opens in Dubai (30 November to 1 December, 2018), before teams move on to Cape Town the following weekend.

In the New Year, teams will travel to Hamilton, New Zealand (26-27 January 2019), before both men’s and women’s teams are welcomed to Sydney, Australia (1-3 February).

The fifth and sixth rounds will be hosted in Las Vegas, USA (1-3 March) and Vancouver, Canada (9-10 March), before teams travel to Hong Kong (5-7 April) and Singapore on (13-14 April) for rounds seven and eight respectively.

The penultimate round of the series will take place again in London (25-26 May), with Paris hosting the finale (1-2 June).

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “As we enter an Olympic Games qualifying year, the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series promises to again be highly competitive teams look to secure their place, via the World Series, at Tokyo 2020.

“Rugby sevens has seen record growth in awareness in recent years with its inclusion in the Olympics having a profound effect on the sport, attracting an estimated 30 million fans globally. The series continues to capture the imagination of global audiences with record-breaking fan engagement figures of over 120 million video views recorded this year.

“The World Series is truly one of rugby sevens’ flagship competitions and we are looking forward to watching teams once again compete at the highest level for not only for the coveted World Series title, but also Olympic qualification.” Rugby sevens continue to engage global audiences and break new ground. The men’s and women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2018 saw record-breaking fan engagement figures with more than 120 million video views, a 60 per cent increase on 2017.

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series Men’s Schedule*
(*All fixtures and venues correct at time of publication/subject to change)

Dubai, UAE, 30 November – 1 December 2018
Cape Town, South Africa, 8-9 December 2018
Hamilton, New Zealand, 26- 27 January 2019
Sydney, Australia, 2-3 February 2019
Las Vegas, USA, 1-3 March 2019
Vancouver, Canada, 9-10 March 2019
Hong Kong, Hong Kong, 5-7 April 2019
Singapore, Singapore, 13-14 April 2019
London, England, 25-26 May 2019
Paris, France, 1-2 June 2019

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images