Junior Boks face New Zealand with new centre pairing
June 16, 2018
The Junior Springboks will face New Zealand in the World Rugby U20 Championship bronze playoff in Béziers on Sunday with a new centre pairing of Wandisile Simelane and Lyle Hendricks.

Simelane switches from the left wing to centre, while Hendricks replaces Rikus Pretorius who is nursing a contusion to his leg.

The other changes to coach Chean Roux’s starting team were at scrumhalf where Rewan Kruger partners up with David Coetzer at halfback, while Ben-Jason Dixon starts at flanker, and hooker Daniel Jooste returns after recovering from a rib injury.

On the bench, lock Ruan Vermaak will provide cover at lock and Manuel Rass at centre.

Zoning in on the match, Roux said his team had to be switched on from the outset to finish the tournament on a winning note and secure the bronze medal.

“This is a big game for us,” said Roux. “I would like to see a full 80-minute performance out there. Hopefully we can get a good start because we haven’t had a good start up to now, so that is something we need to focus on.”

Of New Zealand, the coach said: “They are a physical side and they like to throw the ball around and play high-tempo rugby, so we need to be up for it and be ready for them.

“That said, hopefully we can force our game plan on them in them first 20 minutes.”

The match kicks off at 16h30 at at Stade de la Méditerranée and will be broadcast live on SuperSport 5. It will be followed by the final between tournament hosts, France, and England.

Junior Springbok team to face New Zealand:

15 – Gianni Lombard (Xerox Golden Lions)
14 – Tyrone Green (Xerox Golden Lions)
13 – Wandisile Simelane (Xerox Golden Lions)
12 – Lyle Hendricks (DHL Western Province)
11 – Sihle Njezula (DHL Western Province)
10 – David Coetzer (DHL Western Province)
9 – Rewan Kruger (Toyota Free State)
8 – Muller Uys (DHL Western Province)
7 – Ben-Jason Dixon (DHL Western Province)
6 – Phendulani Buthelezi (Cell C Sharks)
5 – Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
4 – Salmaan Moerat (captain - DHL Western Province)
3 – Sazi Sandi (DHL Western Province)
2 – Daniel Jooste (DHL Western Province)
1 – Alulutho Tshakweni (Eastern Province)
16 – Schalk Erasmus (DHL Western Province)
17 – Leon Lyons (DHL Western Province)
18 – Asenathi Ntlabakanye (Xerox Golden Lions)
19 – Ruan Vermaak (Xerox Golden Lions)
20 – Dian Schoonees (Xerox Golden Lions)
21 – Jack Hart (Xerox Golden Lions)
22 – Lubabalo Dobela (Toyota Free State)
23 – Manuel Rass (Xerox Golden Lions)

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images