Sharks U21s and U19s rack up the points
September 03, 2018
The Cell C Sharks U21 and U19 teams took centre stage in SA Rugby’s Junior Provincial Championships this past weekend as they scored 99 and 134 points respectively.

In the SA Rugby U21 Championship, the Cell C Sharks delivered an effective all-around display against Eastern Province in Durban to run in an impressive 15 tries for a 99-7 victory, with Mfundo Ndhlovu contributing a hat-trick.

Junior Springbok back Gianni Lombard was a key figure in the Xerox Golden Lions’ 38-14 victory against the Leopards.

He scored one of their five tries and kicked five conversions and a penalty goal. The win ensured that they earned a full house of points after two rounds and remained the only unbeaten team.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls, in turn, built on a strong first half against Toyota Free State in Bloemfontein for a 36-19 victory – which marked their first win of the season.

In the SA Rugby U19 Championship, the Cell C Sharks powered their way to a massive 134-7 victory against Eastern Province in Durban as they racked up 20 tries – four of which were scored by Asanda Kunene and three by Caleb Dingaan – while the Xerox Golden Lions held their nerve in a hard-fought home clash against the Leopards for a narrow 36-34 victory, thanks to their five tries to four.

In the other clash, the Vodacom Blue Bulls outplayed Toyota Free State 50-12 in Bloemfontein as they produced a superior performance on attack and defence.

In the only SA Rugby U20 Championship match, the Griffons dominated their clash against the Pumas from the outset for a 52-20 victory, with Allistair Mumba delivering a classy display to score four of their eight tries, while Ethan Williams scored two tries and kicked six conversions for 22 points.

SA Rugby U21 Championship Round 2 results and scorers:

Xerox Golden Lions 38 (17) Leopards 14 (7)

Xerox Golden Lions – Tries: HP van Schoor, Manuel Rass, Tyrone Green, Gianni Lombard, Tiaan van der Merwe. Conversions: Gianni Lombard (5). Penalty Goal: Gianni Lombard.
Leopards – Tries: Damon Lee, Pienaar Van Niekerk. Conversions: Janlu Steenkamp (2).

Toyota Free State 19 (7) Vodacom Blue Bulls 36 (22)

Toyota Free State – Tries: Marthinus Boshoff, Ruan Henning, Rewan Kruger. Conversions: Lubabalo Dobela (2).
Vodacom Blue Bulls – Tries: Johan Grobbelaar (2), Richman Gora, Andell Loubser, Joshua Allderman. Conversions: Cliven Loubser (3), Earll Douwrie. Penalty Goal: Mornay Smith.

Cell C Sharks 99 (33) Eastern Province 7 (0)

Cell C Sharks – Tries: Jordan Els (2), Franco Botha, Jacques Ackerman (2), Marco Palvie, Ilunga Mukendi, Mfundo Ndhlovu (3), Chuiner Van Rooyen (2), Matt Wiseman, Sicelo Tole (2). Conversions: Gareth Simpson (6), James Haydn Tedde (6).
Eastern Province – Try: Dawayne Nel. Conversion: Wayven Jafta.

SA Rugby U20 Championship round 4 results and scorers:

Pumas 50 (0) Griffons 52 (26)

Pumas – Tries: Divan Bezuidenhoudt, Kyle Theron. Conversions: Riekert Barnard, Chrizaan Strauss. Penalty Goals: Riekert Barnard, Chrizaan Strauss.
Griffons – Tries: Duke Jantjies (2), Ethan Williams (2), Allistair Mumba (4). Conversions: Ethan Williams (6).

SA Rugby U19 Championship Round 8 results and scorers:

Xerox Golden Lions 36 (19) Leopards 34 (13)

Xerox Golden Lions – Tries: Cal Smid, Christian Humphries, Prince Nkabinde (2), Kennedy Mpeku. Conversions: Christian Humphries (4). Penalty Goal: Keagan Lailvaux.
Leopards – Tries: Andries Fouche, Sylvester Hassien (2), Chris Vermaak. Conversions: Tristan Oosthuizen (4). Penalty Goals: Tristan Oosthuizen (2).

Toyota Free State 12 (7) Vodacom Blue Bulls 50 (17)

Toyota Free State – Tries: Janus Venter, Philppus Johannes Krugell. Conversion: James Mollentze.
Vodacom Blue Bulls – Tries: Phillip Potgieter, Marnus Potgieter (2), Sabastian Jobb, Andrew Kota, Dylan Kruger, Romeo Eksteen, Ruben Beytell. Conversions: Vaughen Isaacs (4), Stephan van der Bank.

Cell C Sharks 134 (75) Eastern Province 7 (0)

Cell C Sharks – Tries: Fezokuhle Mbatha, Francois Klopper, Jeandre Labushagne, JJ Van Der Mescht, Sanele Nohamba, Henry Chamberlain, Asanda Sihle Kunene (4), Ralph Koster, Muller Du Plessis, Caleb Dingaan (3), Thaakir Abrahams, Adam Mountfort, Matthew Doyle, Onke Jiba. Conversions: Sanele Nohamba (10), Ralph Koster (6), Caleb Dingaan.
Eastern Province – Try: Dirkie Ferreira. Conversion: Dylan Le Roux.

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images