SA Rugby Sevens Academy U18s named for Namibia
February 28, 2017
Three SA Schools representatives from 2016 have been named in the SA Rugby Sevens Academy Under-18 team that will travel to Namibia later this week to play in the Capricorn Group Windhoek Gymnasium Rugby Sevens Festival.

Rikus Pretorius, Janco van Heyningen (both Free State) and Mark Snyman (Golden Lions) represented South Africa in last year's Under-19 International Series against England, Wales, France and Italy. Pretorius, who was named captain, played for SA Schools and Van Heyningen and Snyman for the SA Schools A-side in the same series.

They will now get the opportunity to show off their skills in the shorter version of the game, when the South Africans take on the national teams of Germany, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Namibia in the tournament that will be played on 3 and 4 March in Windhoek. The Festival was arranged to form part of the inauguration of the school's new Rhino Turf rugby field, the first synthetic field in the country.

SA Rugby Sevens Academy Manager, Marius Schoeman, said the squad has lots of potential and should give good account of themselves.

“We are continuously looking at the emerging talent at schoolboy level, so that we can fulfil our role as feeder to the Springbok Sevens side,” said Schoeman.

“Tournaments such as these are very valuable, because it does give us the opportunity to see how the boys react in match situations. There are some serious talent at this level and I think these players will show that.”

Schoeman will be assisted by former Blitzbok captain, Paul Delport.

"We had a good training camp over the last couple of days and the boys responded well to the demands of the sevens code,” said Delport.

“There is already a good bond amongst them and that will make things easier for us when we face the other countries in Windhoek.

“We are mindful of the fact that these boys are all at school and want to thank those schools for granting them time off to play in this tournament.”

The SA Rugby Sevens Academy Under-18 team is:

1. Pepsi Buthelezi (Durban High School)
2. Sanele Nohamba (Vice-captain, Durban High School)
3. Sebastiaan Jobb (Duineveld)
4. Mark Snyman (Helpmekaar College)
5. Rikus Pretorius (captain, Grey College)
6. Janco van Heyningen (Grey College)
7. Angelo Davids (Stellenberg)
8. Qamani Kota (Welkom Gymnasium)
9. Ruben Beytell (EG Jansen)
10. Muzi Nyakane (Ben Vorster)
11. Henco Martins (Paarl Gymnasium)
12. Marnus Potgieter (Affies)
13. Henk Cilliers* (Grey College)
*Travelling reserve

Vodacom Super Rugby
Saturday, March 25 2017
23:40 - Jaguares vs Reds
Velez Sarsfield Stadium, Buenos Aires
FNB Young Guns presented by Steinhoff International
Monday, March 27 2017
16:15 - 1st vs 4th
16:15 - 2nd vs 3rd
FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International
16:45 - FNB NWU-Puk vs FNB Tuks
Fanie du Toit Sports Grounds, Potch
18:30 - FNB Madibaz vs FNB CUT
CUT Rugby Stadium, Bloemfontein
18:30 - FNB Wits vs FNB UCT
Wits Rugby Stadium
FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International
18:30 - 1st vs 4th
18:30 - 2nd vs 3rd
FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International
19:00 - FNB Maties vs FNB UJ
Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch
Vodacom Super Rugby
Friday, March 31 2017
08:35 - Highlanders vs Rebels
Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.