Memorable 100 for Golden Lions U21’s
September 04, 2017
The Xerox Golden Lions U21s stole the show in the SA Rugby Junior Provincial Championships this past weekend as they scored a memorable 100-8 victory against the Leopards in Potchefstroom for the biggest score of the weekend.

The SA Rugby U21 Championship defending champions were in fine form, with their enterprising attack earning them 16 tries – three of which were scored by Eddie Fouche, while Morne Moos, Jo-Hanko De Villiers and Morne Van den Berg each scored braces.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls U21’s registered their second victory in a row as they defeated Toyota Free State 53-32 at Loftus Versfeld thanks to an impressive eight tries, while the Cell C Sharks kicked off their season with a rewarding 54-7 victory against Eastern Province as they scored eight tries to one in an impressive display all-around.

In the U20 Championship, a hat-trick by Griffons fullback Allistair Mumba steered the log leaders to their 11th victory in 12 matches as they defeated Griquas 46-24 in Welkom, while SWD outscored the Limpopo Blue Bulls five tries to one in George for a 31-11 victory, which left them in second place on the log standings.

Boland in turn bounced back from three defeats in a row to defeat the Pumas 35-21 in Montagu.

In the SA Rugby U19 Championship, log-leaders, the Xerox Golden Lions, overpowered the Leopards 54-19 in Potchefstroom in what marked their fourth successive win with a score of over 40 points and their seventh victory in eight matches.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls, meanwhile, registered their fifth win in a row as they overturned a 10-7 half-time deficit against the Toyota Free State at Loftus Versfeld to emerge 27-20 victors, while the Cell C Sharks earned their second win in the tournament as they scored four tries to Eastern Province’s two for a 24-14 victory.

SA Rugby U21 Championship round 2 results and scorers:

Vodacom Blue Bulls 53 Toyota Free State 32

Vodacom Blue Bulls – Tries: Rieckert Korff, Xolisa Guma, Erich Cronje, None Bezuidenhout, Andell Loubser (2), Duan Joe Du Plessis, PJ Toerien. Conversions: Tinus De Beer (4), Andell Loubser. Penalty Goal: Tinus De Beer.
Toyota Free State - Tries: Jaywinn Juries, Niell Stannard, Marnus Van der Merwe (2), Ewan Coetzee. Conversions: Ruan Wasserman, Kwagga Taylor. Penalty Goal: Kwagga Taylor.

Eastern Province 7 Cell C Sharks 54

Eastern Province - Try: Lupumlo Mguca. Conversion: Michael Brink.
Cell C Sharks - Tries: Khuthazani Mchunu, Kwanda Dimaza, Ilunga Mukendi, Cornelius Johannes Otto, Taigh Schoor (2), Andrew John Evans, William Squires. Conversions: Alwayno Visagie (3), Morne Joubert (4).

Leopards 8 Xerox Golden Lions 100

Leopards - Try: Zandre Du Plessis. Penalty Goal: Hendrik Mulder.
Xerox Golden Lions - Tries: Le Roux Baard, Jaco Willemse, Morne Moos (2), Jo-Hanko De Villiers (2), Morne Van den Berg (2), Kwandero Ngema, Eddie Fouche (3), Xander Crause, Braam Lion Beckerling, Curtis Jonas, Boeta Vermaak. Conversions: Siyabonga Masuku (7), Eddie Fouche (3).

SA Rugby U20 Championship round 14 results and scorers:

SWD 31 Limpopo Blue Bulls 11

SWD – Tries: Aiden Joseph, Michael Fernol (2), Ronaldo Fortuin, Jaywin Petersen. Conversions: Ronaldo Fortuin (3).
Limpopo Blue Bulls - Try: Ruben Breedt. Penalty Goals: Michael Jacobs (2).

Boland 35 Pumas 21

Boland - Tries: Phillip Jacobs, Jaiden Baron (2), Xavier Mitchell, Gilroy Philander. Conversions: Jaydon Markus (5).
Pumas - Tries: Esjee Esterhuyse (2), Ryan Phir. Conversions: Gert Cronje (3).

Griffons 46 Griquas 24

Griffons - Tries: Luciano Eduardo Jones (2), Allistair Mumba (3), Penalty Try. Conversions: Luan James (4), Penalty Conversion. Penalty Goals: Luan James (2).
Griquas - Tries: Joe-Lythen Willemse, Jacques Beukes, Phurnal Grant Leigh Swartz. Conversions: LW Viljoen (3). Penalty Goal: LW Viljoen.

SA Rugby U19 Championship round 9 results and scorers:

Vodacom Blue Bulls 27 Toyota Free State 20

Vodacom Blue Bulls – Tries: Johannes Christoffel Pretorius, Jerome Bossr, Dewald Maritz. Conversions: Xander Kruger, Theo Boshoff (2). Penalty Goals: Xander Kruger, Theo Boshoff.
Toyota Free State - Tries: Lubabalo Dobela, Saida Xamlashe. Conversions: Lubabalo Dobela (2). Penalty Goals: Lubabalo Dobela (2).

Eastern Province 14 Cell C Sharks 24

Eastern Province - Tries: Mandisi Owethu Mthiyane, Libhongalethu Geza. Conversions: Vaughen Isaacs (2).
Cell C Sharks - Tries: Hluma Zondani, Emilio Adonis (2), James Robert Bruce. Conversions: Chuiner Van Rooyen (2).

Leopards 19 Xerox Golden Lions 54

Leopards - Tries: Ishaad Ganville Snyman, Cameron Dorfling, Deodan Jacobs. Conversions: Dylan Schoeman (2).
Xerox Golden Lions - Tries: Mark Snyman, Dian Schoonees (2), Shaun Williams, Louritz van der Schyff, Gianni Lombard, Dawid Jacque Bodenstein, Khanya Ncusane. Conversions: Gianni Lombard (7).

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images