Let's play some sevens, Blitzboks style - Powell
April 27, 2018
Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell has a simple blue print for this weekend’s HSBC Singapore Sevens – he wants his team to play like the Blitzboks.

The tournament kicks off on Saturday and concludes on Sunday in Singapore’s National Stadium.

“I would like the guys to go out and do what we do best and what made us successful over the last couple of years,” said Powell at the conclusion of their preparations for the for the eighth tournament of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

“We need to finish off the opportunities we create and as important, keep a clean slate on defence and not concede tries.”

South Africa holds the series lead, having finished in the top four in all seven previous tournaments. His plan may sound simple, but Powell believes it can be done, despite the tough opposition in Pool C.

“We have a tough pool – Samoa is first up and that is where our focus will be. They are dangerous if they find their rhythm, so we need to stop that with good defence,” said Powell.

“The Canadians are up next. They are the defending champions and could be dangerous – they have been on the road for five weeks and should have good momentum. Argentina, our final pool opponents, beat us last time we played them (in the semi-finals in Las Vegas) and they will be confident.”

Powell enjoyed the week and the fruits of his team selections. He named a number of younger players who will play in Singapore for the first time: “They brought good energy, now they must repeat the performance from Hong Kong, which is a nice challenge.

“I am happy with our week. If they guys go out and play like we know they can, the results will look after themselves,” said Powell.

Singapore Pools:

A: Fiji, Spain, Russia, Japan
B: Kenya, USA, France, England
C: South Africa, Argentina, Canada, Samoa
D: New Zealand, Scotland, Australia, Wales

SA schedule, Saturday 28 April (SA times):

06h06: Samoa
09h34: Canada
13h00: Argentina

The Springbok Sevens team for the HSBC Singapore Sevens (with tournament caps and points) is:

1. Heino Bezuidenhout (1 tournament, 6 matches, 5 points, 1 try)
2. Ryan Oosthuizen (7 tournaments, 27 matches, 30 points, 6 tries)
3. Kyle Brown (captain; 64 tournaments, 324 matches, 420 points, 84 tries)
4. Zain Davids (10 tournaments, 42 matches, 35 points, 7 tries)
5. Dylan Sage (21 tournaments, 116 matches, 140 points, 28 tries)
6. Rosko Specman (25 tournaments, 137 matches, 338 points, 62 tries, 14 conversions)
7. Selvyn Davids (4 tournaments, 19 matches, 76 points, 10 tries, 12 conversions)
8. Cecil Afrika (59 tournaments, 309 matches, 1395 points, 170 tries)
9. Werner Kok (34 tournaments, 166 matches, 370 points, 74 tries)
10. Stedman Gans (9 tournaments, 36 matches, 45 points, 9 tries)
11. Muller du Plessis (3 tournaments, 14 matches, 40 points, 8 tries)
12. Siviwe Soyizwapi (15 tournaments, 71 matches, 235 points, 47 tries)
13. James Murphy (1 tournament, 6 matches, 0 points – travelling reserve)

Castle Lager Outgoing Tour
Saturday, November 17 2018
19:20 - Scotland vs South Africa
Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Saturday, November 24 2018
19:20 - Wales vs South Africa
Principality Stadium, Cardiff

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images