Murray to carry SA flag in World Rugby Sevens Series
August 08, 2018
South Africa’s Ashleigh Murray, one of the country’s leading women’s referees, has been named amongst the 25 match officials from 15 unions for the 2019 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

World Rugby named the appointments for the forthcoming season on Tuesday. Rasta Rasivhenge, one of the most experienced referees on the men's circuit, will continue in this regard.

The 22-year-old Murray, who started out as a referee in 2011 with the Golden Lions Rugby Union, has been making great strides in his career and her inclusion in a new-look 13-person match official panel for the women’s series comes as the countdown to the 2020 Olympic Games gathers pace.

The promotion to the international stage for the Alberton resident was applauded by SA Rugby CEO, Jurie Roux.

“It is always heartening to see our own referees being rewarded and recognised, as is the case now with Ashleigh,” said Roux.

“She has proved her abilities domestically and will do well on the international stage.”

Murray has been on the SA Rugby women’s panel since 2014 and takes over the flag from Ben Crouse and Aimee Barrett-Theron, who officiated in the women’s series in recent years. Both have opted to focus on fifteens in the future.

Amongst Murray’s more prominent career achievements, were appointments to officiate at the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series Qualifier in Hong Kong, the Africa Women's Sevens in Botswana and the World University 7s Championships in Namibia, all in 2018. Last season she also took charge of the SA Rugby Women’s Interprovincial final between Border and Western Province.

This season, the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series increases to six rounds with USA Rugby hosting the new opening round in Glendale, Colorado, on 20-21 October, 2018. The men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will again be contested across 10 rounds with the series opener set for Dubai from 30 November to 1 December 2018.

Women’s Sevens Series Panel:

Joy Neville (IRFU)
Sara Cox (RFU)
Hollie Davidson (SRU)
Tevita Rokoverneni (FRU)
Sakurako Kawasaki (JRFU)
Tyler Miller (ARU)
Emily Hsieh (USA)
Bea Benvenuti (FIR)
Madeline Putz (ARU)
Ashleigh Murray (SA Rugby)
Lauren Jenner (NZRU)
Amy Perrett (ARU)
Adam Jones (WRU)

Men’s Sevens Series Panel:

Rasta Rasivhenge (SA Rugby)
Richard Kelly (NZRU)
Damon Murphy (ARU)
Richard Haughton (RFU)
Matt Rodden (HKRU)
Jeremy Rozier (FFR)
James Doleman (NZRU)
Paulo Duarte (FPR)
Sam Grove White (SRU)
Craig Evans (WRU)
Damian Schneider (UAR)
Jordan Way (ARU)

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images