Whiteley withdrawn from team to face France
June 24, 2017
Springbok captain Warren Whiteley has been withdrawn from the team to France on Saturday because of a groin injury. Vice-captain, Eben Etzebeth, will now lead the Springboks in the third and final Castle Lager Incoming Series match at Emirates Airline Park in Johannesburg.

Whiteley has been managed throughout the series for his groin strain that he aggravated on Thursday after a line-out session, and it was decided to send him for a scan on Friday. The scan showed he aggravated the initial strain and it was therefore decided not to risk with him.

“Warren is indeed a big loss for us. However, our preparations this week went very well and hasn’t been disrupted,” explained Springbok coach, Allister Coetzee.

The withdrawal of Whiteley, who has led the Boks to triumphs in the previous two meetings between the sides, has resulted in a couple of personnel changes in the Springbok match 23.

Jean-Luc du Preez moves from the side of the scrum to fill the No 8 position, while flanker Jaco Kriel is elevated from the bench into the starting team. Lood de Jager (lock) now comes onto the substitute bench as one of the forward reserves.

The revised Springbok side to face France in Johannesburg:

15. Andries Coetzee (Emirates Lions), 2 caps, 0 points
14. Raymond Rhule (Toyota Cheetahs), 2, 0
13. Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Bulls), 18, 20 (4t)
12. Jan Serfontein (Vodacom Bulls), 28, 20 (4t)
11. Courtnall Skosan (Emirates Lions), 2, 0
10. Elton Jantjies (Emirates Lions), 13, 115 (1t, 19c, 24p)
9. Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors, England), 41, 25 (5t)
8. Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks), 3, 0
7. Jaco Kriel (Emirates Lions), 7, 0
6. Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers), 15, 5 (1t)
5. Franco Mostert (Emirates Lions), 9, 0
4. Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers), 56, 10 (2t)
3. Ruan Dreyer (Emirates Lions), 0, 0
2. Malcolm Marx (Emirates Lions), 4, 0
1. Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), 89, 10 (2t)
16. Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers), 7, 0
17. Steven Kitshoff (Bordeaux Bègles, France), 12, 0
18. Coenie Oosthuizen (Cell C Sharks), 25, 20 (4t)
19. Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers), 22, 15 (3t)
20. Lood de Jager (Vodacom Bulls), 28, 20 (4t)
21. Rudy Paige (Vodacom Bulls), 7, 0
22. Frans Steyn (Montpellier, France), 55, 132 (10t, 5c, 21p, 3d)
23. Dillyn Leyds (DHL Stormers), 2, 0

HSBC Sevens World Series Singapore
Saturday, April 28 2018
05:00 - Scotland vs Australia
05:22 - New Zealand vs Wales
05:44 - Argentina vs Canada
06:06 - South Africa vs Samoa
06:30 - USA vs France
06:52 - Kenya vs England
07:14 - Spain vs Russia
07:36 - Fiji vs Japan
08:28 - Scotland vs Wales

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images