Vodacom Super Rugby Round 3 Roundup
March 12, 2017
Youngsters Jean-Luc du Preez (flank) and Curwin Bosch (replacement flyhalf) starred in the 37-14 Cell C Sharks win over the Waratahs on Saturday evening as the Durban team continued their impressive start to the 2017 Vodacom Super Rugby season.

Du Preez, who made his Springbok debut last November against Wales in Cardiff, was presented with the Man of the Match award for his striking performance in a dominant home pack of forwards. Bosch, a former SA Schools and Junior Springbok star, delivered a polished performance after replacing injured skipper Pat Lambie early in the first half, scoring 27 points through a try, two conversions and six penalties.

Earlier in Port Elizabeth, the visiting DHL Stormers outscored the Southern Kings by six tries to one on their way to a comfortable 41-10. The team from Cape Town had several regulars missing because of injury and rotation led 17-3 at halftime.

The Sunwolves gave the Toyota Cheetahs a hard workout in their clash in Bloemfontein and the home side did well to edge the visitors 38-31 in a close-fought affair.

In the last fixture of the weekend played in Buenos Aires, home side the Jaguares defeated a reshuffled Emirates Lions side 36-24 after leading 21-7 at halftime.

After three rounds of matches, the DHL Stormers lead the South African Group on 13 points from their three wins. They are followed by the Cell C Sharks, Jaguares, Emirates Lions and the Toyota Cheetahs who all have nine points.

The Vodacom Bulls and the Rebels both had byes over the weekend.

Vodacom Super Rugby information

DHL Stormers 41, Southern Kings 10


DHL Stormers: 41 – Tries: Dillyn Leyds, Bjorn Basson, Rynhardt Elstadt, Robert du Preez, Justin Philips and EW Viljoen; Conversions: Robert du Preez (2) and Kurt Coleman (2). Penalty: Robert du Preez.
Southern Kings: 10 – Try: Makozole Mapimpi; Conversion: Lionel Cronje; Penalty: Lionel Cronje.

Toyota Cheetahs 38, Sunwolves 31


Toyota Cheetahs: 38 - Tries: Torsten van Jaarsveld, Oupa Mohoje, Clinton Swart, Rayno Benjamin. Conversions: Fred Zeilinga (4). Penalties: Zeilinga (4).
Sunwolves: 31 - Tries: Shota Emi, Hayden Cripps, Kenki Fukuoka (2). Conversions: Cripps (2), Jamie-Jerry Taulagi. Penalty: Cripps.

Cell C Sharks 37, NSW Waratahs 14


Cell C Sharks: 37 - Tries: Tera Mtembu, Curwin Bosch and Kobus van Wyk; Conversions: Curwin Bosch (2); Penalties: Bosch (6).
Waratahs: 14 - Tries: Israel Folau (2); Conversions: Reece Robinson (2).

Jaguares 36, Emirates Lions 24


Jaguares 36 – Tries: Joaquin Tuculet, Ramiro Moyano, Jeronimo De la Fuente, Nicolas Sanchez. Conversions: Sanchez (3). Penalties: Sanchez (3).
Emirates Lions 24 – Tries: Warren Whiteley (2), Jacques van Rooyen, Malcolm Marx Conversion: Shaun Reynolds, Jaco van der Walt.

Other Round 3 results:

Friday, 10 March:

Chiefs 26, Hurricanes 18;
Brumbies 23, Force 17;

Saturday, 11 March:

Reds 20, Crusaders 22;
Blues 12, Highlanders 16.

HSBC Sevens World Series Singapore
Saturday, April 28 2018
05:00 - Scotland vs Australia
05:22 - New Zealand vs Wales
05:44 - Argentina vs Canada
06:06 - South Africa vs Samoa
06:30 - USA vs France
06:52 - Kenya vs England
07:14 - Spain vs Russia
07:36 - Fiji vs Japan
08:28 - Scotland vs Wales

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images