Junior pace-setters continue to make their mark
August 07, 2017
The early pace setters in the SA Rugby U19 and U20 Championships continued to make their mark in the competitions this past weekend, with the DHL Western Province U19’s remaining unbeaten, while the Xerox Golden Lions and Vodacom Blue Bulls U19’s and the Griffons and Limpopo Blue Bulls U20’s continued their winning ways.

In the SA Rugby U20 Championship the Valke outplayed the Pumas 54-14 at the Barnard Stadium in Kempton Park, the Limpopo Blue Bulls registered a valuable 34-23 away win against Border at the BCM Stadium in East London, and table-toppers, the Griffons, defeated Boland 41-29 at the HT Pelatona Projects Stadium in Welkom.

In the SA Rugby U19 Championship, meanwhile, DHL Western Province defeated the Cell C Sharks 28-15 at Brookside, home of Villiager Rugby Club, in Cape Town to extend their unbeaten run to four matches, log-leaders the Xerox Golden Lions beat Toyota Free State 46-28 at Xerox Shimla Park, and the Vodacom Blue Bulls outplayed Eastern Province 46-3 at Loftus Versfeld.

In the U20 Champs, the Valke were in fine form on attack and defence against the Pumas as they scored an impressive eight tries, while limiting the opposition to two. Centre Gavin Pienaar kept the scoreboard ticking thanks to his solid contribution of seven conversions and two tries for a personal total of 24 points.

The Limpopo Blue Bulls broke away on the scoreboard after a tight first half against Border to secure a 34-23 victory as they scored five tries to the Eastern Cape side’s three, while Boland’s ill-discipline cost them dearly against the Griffons, with the Welkom side slotting over four penalty goals, which steered them to victory as both sides scored four tries.

A strong start by the DHL Western Province U19’s in which they built up an encouraging 21-3 lead against the Cell C Sharks paved the way for their 28-15 victory. The KwaZulu-Natalians fought back hard and tightened up their defence to limit the Capetonians to only one converted try in the second half, but this was too little too late.

The Xerox Golden Lions, meanwhile, delivered a strong second-half display against Toyota Free State to overcome a 14-14 halftime tie, with the side running in an impressive seven tries – three of which were scored by centre Louritz van der Schyff – while fullback Gianni Lombard also made a solid contribution with a try, penalty goal and four conversions.

Free State flyhalf Lubabalo Dobela, meanwhile, was a key player for his side with two tries and four conversions.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls dominated their clash against Eastern Province completely, which saw them run in six tries, while their defence was so tight that the opposition were only able to score a penalty goal.

SA Rugby U20 Championship round 10 results:

Valke 54 (21) Pumas 14 (7)

Valke – Tries: Ruan Janse van Rensburg, Ruan Vermeulen, Andrew Volschenck, Brandon Collins, Gavin Pienaar (2), Jeandre Esterhuizen, Joshua Petro. Conversions: Gavin Pienaar (7).
Pumas - Tries: Gerhard Combrink, Esuan Van Niekerk. Conversions: Gert Cronje (2).

Border 23 (8) Limpopo Blue Bulls 34 (15)

Border - Tries: Izzy Kori, Phelani Phelani (2). Conversion: Xolisa Maxhegwana. Penalty Goals: Xolisa Maxhegwana (2).
Limpopo Blue Bulls - Tries: Xandre Miller, Christoff Mulder, Luke Haynes, Michael Jacobs, Joseph Josephus Anker. Conversions: John Robert Smith, Michael Jacobs (2). Penalty Goal: John Robert Smith.

Griffons 41 (28) Boland 29 (10)

Griffons - Tries: Fanie Vermaak, Tristan Rothman, Allistair Mumba. Conversions: Luan James (2). Penalty Goals: Luan James (4). Penaly Goals: Luan James.
Boland - Tries: Mihle Nelani, Jannes van Niekerk, Kevin Goddard, Andre Swanepoel. Conversions: Marlin Baron, Andre Swanepoel (2). Penalty Goal: Marlin Baron.

SA Rugby U19 Championship round five results:

DHL Western Province 28 Cell C Sharks 15

DHL Western Province - Tries: Schalk Erasmus, Ben-Jason Dixon, Wian Van Zyl, Jessie Johnson. Conversions: Lyle Hendricks (4).
Cell C Sharks - Tries: Sibabalwe Mzanywa (2). Conversion: Xavier Swartbooi. Penalty Goal: Xavier Swartbooi.

Toyota Free State 28 (14) Xerox Golden Lions 46 (14)

Toyota Free State - Tries: Duncan van Vuuren, Rewie Kruger, Lubabalo Dobela (2). Conversions: Lubabalo Dobela (4).
Xerox Golden Lions - Tries: Dian Schoonees, Austin Davids, Louritz van der Schyff (3), Wandisile Simelane, Gianni Lombard. Conversions: Gianni Lombard (4). Penalty Goal: Gianni Lombard.

Vodacom Blue Bulls 46 (25) Eastern Province 3 (3)

Vodacom Blue Bulls - Tries: Matthew Wessels, Khwezi Wian Van Niekerk (2), Zandra Kruger, Christian Strydom. Mafu. Conversions: Jerome Bossr (5). Penalty Goals: Jerome Bossr (2).
Eastern Province - Penalty Goal: Vaughen Isaacs.


Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images