Sharks and Lions claim junior titles in Cape Town
October 27, 2018
The Xerox Golden Lions claimed the SA Rugby U21 Championship final at DHL Newlands on Saturday with a comprehensive 58-24 victory over the Vodacom Blue Bulls.

The Xerox Golden Lions made good use of their point-scoring chances throughout their match against the Vodacom Blue Bulls and this paid off as they built up a 27-10 halftime lead and eventually claimed the title.

The team showed fantastic skill on attack and they did well to snuff out the gaps in the defence, and the rewards followed as they outscored the Vodacom Blue Bulls six tries to three.

Fullback Jean-Luc Cilliers also played a vital role in the victory with his accurate goal-kicking earning him an impressive 28 points thanks to six penalty goals and five conversions.

SA Rugby U19 Championship

The first half of the SA Rugby U19 Championship proved to be a ding-dong battle, but the Cell C Sharks found their rhythm in the second half and played their way to a 40-27 victory.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls struck first with a try in the opening exchanges and the Durbanites retaliated minutes later, which proved to be the pattern in the first half, as the sides each scored two tries and two penalty goals to level the scores at 20-20.

The Cell C Sharks, however, took control of the match in the second half as they retained possession and applied consistent pressure on attack, which saw them add two tries in the third quarter for a valuable lead.

The Pretorians hit back with a try and they continued to fight until the final whistle, but the Cell C Sharks held their nerve and managed to shut them out, while they kicked a late penalty goal for a rewarding 40-27 victory.

This capped off a fantastic season in which they won all their matches.

Results and scorers

SA Rugby U21 Championship final – Vodacom Blue Bulls 24 (10) Xerox Golden Lions 58 (27)

Vodacom Blue Bulls - Tries: Jaco Bezuidenhout, Manie Libbok, JC Pretorius. Conversions: Manie Libbok (3). Penalty Goal: Andell Loubser.

Xerox Golden Lions - Tries: Leon Massyn, Tyrone Green, Gianni Lombard, Asenathi Ntlabakanye, Shaun Williams, Wandisile Simelane. Conversions: Jeanluc Cilliers (5). Penalty Goals: Jean-Luc Cilliers (6).

SA Rugby U19 Championship final: Cell C Sharks 40 (20) Vodacom Blue Bulls 27 (20)

Cell C Sharks – Tries: Henry Chamberlain, Jeandre Labushagne, James Scott, Vian Andre Fourie. Conversions: Sanele Nohamba (4). Penalty Goals: Sanele Nohamba (3). Drop Goal: Henry Chamberlain.

Vodacom Blue Bulls - Tries: Jay Cee Nel, Jaco Labuschagne, Gerrit Du Preez. Conversions: Vaughen Isaacs (3). Penalty Goals: Vaughen Isaacs (2).