Founded 1883
Home Ground : Newlands Stadium
WP Rugby is traditionally symbolized by the Blue and White Hoops of its playing strip. Newlands Rugby Stadium, situated in the Southern Suburbs of Cape Town, South Africa, has a capacity of 48 000 and plays home to the proud Union.
Since the advent of professional rugby in South Africa, shortly after the 1995 Rugby World Cup, WP Rugby Football Union saw the need to establish a commercial arm to handle the demands of the professional game. In 1996, the commercial arm, WP Rugby (Pty) Ltd, was created to deal with the growing interest from the public, media, sponsors and players, and to maximize commercial opportunities.
WP Rugby Football Union, a non profit organization and major shareholder in WP Rugby (Pty) Ltd, continues to develop the game at amateur level, growing and nurturing rugby at school boy and club level, taking into account areas such as coaching, refereeing, skills development and transformation.
President :Thelo Wakefield
CEO:Paul Zacks
Tel :021 659 4500
Address :PO Box 55
Cape Town
Honours: Absa Currie Cup: 1889, 1892, 1894, 1895, 1897, 1898, 1904, 1906, 1908, 1914, 1920, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1932 (shared), 1934 (shared), 1936, 1947, 1954, 1959, 1964, 1966, 1979 (shared), 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1989 (shared), 1997, 2000, 2001, 2012, 2014
Vodacom Cup: 2012.
Vodacom Super Rugby SA Conference winners: 2011, 2012
Lion Cup: 1984, 1988, 1989.
Absa Nite Series: 1997.

FNB Young Guns presented by Steinhoff International
Monday, February 27 2017
14:15 - Ikeys vs Maties
UCT Rugby Fields, Cape Town
14:15 - UFS YG vs Pukke
Xerox Shimla Park, Bloemfontein
14:15 - UP-Tuks vs Wits
Tuks Stadium, Pretoria
FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International
16:45 - FNB UCT vs FNB Maties
UCT Rugby Fields, Cape Town
18:30 - FNB Tuks vs FNB Wits
Tuks Stadium, Pretoria
18:30 - FNB CUT vs FNB UJ
CUT Rugby Stadium, Bloemfontein
FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International
18:30 - UWC vs TUT
UWC Sports Stadium
18:30 - Rhodes vs UFH
Rhodes Great Field
18:30 - CPUT vs UKZN
CPUT Sports Stadium
FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International
19:00 - FNB Shimlas vs FNB NWU-Puk
Xerox Shimla Park, Bloemfontein

Copyright 2011 - SARU. All Rights Reserved.