The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series consists of tournaments held around the world in which men's and women's national sevens teams compete for series points. An overall champion for both men and women is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout all of the events. The Blitzboks won the series on four occasions - in the 2008/09 season, as well as back-to-back in 2017 and 2018, and again in 2021 by winning two tournaments in Canada after the series was impacted due to COVID.

The history

The World Rugby Sevens Series is an annual series of international rugby sevens tournaments run by World Rugby featuring national sevens teams for men and women. Organised for the first time in the 1999/2000 season as the IRB World Sevens Series, the competition was formed to promote an elite-level of international rugby sevens and develop the game into a viable commercial product. The season circuit consists of 10 tournaments that generally begin in November or December and last until May, and are played in 10 countries on five of the six populated continents. The United Arab Emirates, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, Canada, Hong Kong, Singapore, France and England each host one event.

There are currently no fixtures available.


27 Nov|The Sevens Stadium, Dubai (UAE)

Springbok Sevens

42 - 7

USA 7s

27 Nov|The Sevens Stadium, Dubai (UAE)

Argentina 7s

19 - 12

Fiji 7s

27 Nov|The Sevens Stadium, Dubai (UAE)

Australia 7s

35 - 21

Great Britain 7s

27 Nov|The Sevens Stadium, Dubai (UAE)

Ireland 7s

29 - 7

Kenya 7s

27 Nov|The Sevens Stadium, Dubai (UAE)

Spain 7s

26 - 28

France 7s