South Africa's oldest and premier provincial competition, which was contested from October 2020 to January 2021 during a season disrupted by COVID-19, ended in joy for the Vodacom Bulls as they won the title for the first time since 2009, beating the Durban-based Cell C Sharks in a dramatic and nail-biting home final in Pretoria. The other teams in the competition for 2021 are 2019 champions, the Toyota Cheetahs (from Bloemfontein), as well as DHL Western Province (Cape Town), Lions (Johannesburg), New Nation Pumas (Nelspruit) and Tafel Lager Griquas (Kimberley).

The history

The Currie Cup is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world, with the first games played in 1889, but it was only in 1892 that it became officially known as the Currie Cup. The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province. The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province. The Currie Cup trophy was donated to South Africa in 1891 by the touring British Isles team - it was given to the tourists by Sir Donald Currie, owner of Union-Castle Lines, the shipping company that transported them to the southern tip of Africa. Sir Donald was clear with his instructions – hand this trophy over to the team in South Africa that gives you the best game. After a spirited display where the unbeaten British Lions narrowly won 3-0, Griqualand West became the first ever holders of the Currie Cup.


New Nation Pumas

18 Jun | Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit



Tafel Lager Griquas

19 Jun | Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley


Cell C Sharks

Vodacom Bulls

19 Jun | Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria


DHL Western Province


30 Jan|Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Vodacom Bulls

26 - 19

Cell C Sharks

23 Jan|DHL Newlands, Cape Town

DHL Western Province

9 - 19

Cell C Sharks

23 Jan|Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Vodacom Bulls

26 - 21




United Rugby Champs heralds new era for SA rugby

A new era will kick off for South African rugby when the Cell C Sharks, DHL Stormers, Emirates Lions and Vodacom Bulls join 12 Guinness PRO14 clubs for the United Rugby Championship, which will kick off in September 2021 in a brand new, world-class 16-team league.


Leinster send reminder of challenges beyond Treviso

As the Vodacom Bulls were confirming their status as South Africa’s best team and the country’s representatives in Saturday’s eagerly awaited Rainbow Cup Final, Leinster ended their season by drumming out a timely reminder of what awaits beyond the Treviso decider.

Team news

Vodacom Bulls name tour squad to Italy

Springbok loose forward Marcell Coetzee will lead a strong Vodacom Bulls squad of 28 players - which include a total of six players who have worn the Green and Gold - on their quest to Italy for the Rainbow Cup final.


PRO14 Rainbow Cup SA Round 6 Review

The Vodacom Bulls claimed top spot in the PRO14 Rainbow Cup SA in Durban on Saturday evening when they defeated the Cell C Sharks by 34-22 in the final match, and in the process booked their place in next weekend’s ‘North v South’ final in Italy.

Match report

Vodacom Bulls book their place in Rainbow Cup final

The race for top spot in the PRO14 Rainbow Cup SA was comfortably won by the Vodacom Bulls on Saturday evening in Durban where the men from Pretoria defeated the Cell C Sharks by 34-22 and in the process deservingly booked their place in next weekend’s North versus South final in Italy.